Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan Biography: Age, Profile & Pictures

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan Biography: Age, Profile & Pictures

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan is a popular Nigerian politician born on January 12, 1959 in Gashua town of Yobe state.

Ahmed Lawan is a Nigerian senator who represents the All progressive Congress in the North Constituency of Yobe State.

He became to limelight in 2019 after he defeated senator Mohammed Ali Ndume to emerged the new Senate president of the 9th National Assembly

Lawan attended Sabon Gari Primary school and Government secondary school for his primary and secondary education respectively.

He obtained a Bachelors degree in Geography at the University of Maiduguri, a Masters degree in Remote Sensing from Ahmadu Bello University and a Doctorate degree in Remote Sensing/GIS from Cranfield University, UK.


Prior to politics, Lawan had worked in the Yobe state civil service as an Education Officer in the Ministry of Education from 1985 to 1986. He was also a lecturer at the University of Maiduguri for 10 years.

Lawan was elected into the House of Representatives in 1999 where he cahired such committee as House Committee on Education and Agriculture.

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan

He was elected a Senator on the platform of All Nigerian Peoples Party in 2007. In 2009, as chairman of the senate committee on Public Accounts, he initiated and sponsored the Desertification Control Commission Bill.

For the second term, he was a Senator representing Yobe North Senatorial District in 2011 under the ANPP platform.

He also won the third and fourth term respectively under the All Progressive Congress (APC).

However, On June 6, 2019, Senator Danjuma Goje stepped down for Senator Lawan from the Senate Presidency race.

READ ALSO: Bukola Saraki Biography: Education, Profile & Net Worth

Senator Ahmed Lawan was elected and sworn in as the Senate President of the Nigerian 9th Assembly after defeating Senator Ali Ndume.

Personal Life

Ahmed Lawan is happily married with children.

Awards & Honors

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan is a recipient of numerous awards which include:

  • National Honours Award of the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON)
  • Best Performing Senator in Yobe State in 2009 by Yobe State Students’ Association, University of Abuja Chapter
  • Best Senator for Effective Oversight, NUJ
  • Best Senator in 2011 by Baseline Global Ventures

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

NOTE: All Biography on this platform are for information purpose only.

Scroll to Top