History Of The Headies Awards & Notable Moments

Headies awards history, founder & past winners

The headies awards which was formerly known as the hip hop world awards is an award organized for the outstanding achievements in the Nigerian music industry.

The headies awards was established in 2006 to recognize talent in the Nigerian music industry.

The Headies awards was founded by the owner of Hiptv, Ayo Animashaun and also created th image of the headies which was drawn by Mathias Aragbada.

The first headies plaque was done by Jide Adewoye and in 2008, it was redone in the United kingdom as plated with 21 carat gold. The new plaque is a mixture of resin, copper, steel, marble and gold.

The headies plaque typically represents the image and the shout of a young, vibrant man whose talent can challenge that of Nas, Kanye West and Jay Z combined but has lost confidence in his abilities due to the harsh economy of the country.

The first award was held on 10 March 2006 at the Shell Hall of the Muson Centre in Onikan, Lagos and was hosted by Darey Art Alade. The event was tagged “The revolution is here”.

In 2007, it was held at the same venue but was hosted by D’banj and Tana Adelana with the event tagged “The Best Gets Better”.

In 2008, the venue for the event was moved to Planet One in Maryland, Lagos as hosted by Basketmouth and actress Dakore Eguson. The event was tagged “Change has to change”.

In 2009,  the award ceremony was held at the International Conference Centre in Abuja, Nigeria with Banky W and Kemi Adetiba unveiled  as the hosts.

In 2010, the ceremony took place at the Eko hotel and suites with no host. The nominations announcement was streamed over the internet.

In 2011, the sixth annual award was held at the Eko hotel and suites and was hsoted by actress Rita Dominic and rapper Eldee. It was in 2011 that the name the hip hop award was changed to The headies awards as the event was tagged “Breaking from the norm”.

In 2012, the evnt ws held at the Eko hotel and suites and hosted by Omawumi and M.I.

In 2013, the ceremony was held at the Oriental hotel in lagos and was hosted by Tiwa Savage and Dr Sid.

In 2014, the nineth annual headies award was held at the Eko hotel and suites in victoria island ,lagos and was hosted by Toke Makinwa and Basketmouth. The theme of the event was “Feel the passion”.

The 2015 tenth annual headies awards took place in January i, 2016 at the Landmark events centre in Victoria Island, Lagos. It was hosted by comedian Bovi and dance queen, Kaffy. The event was tagged “Flip the script”.

READ ALSO: 2018 Headies Awards: Organizers Releases Nominees List For Its 12th Edition

The eleventh annual headies award took place at the Eko hotel and suites as hosted by actress Adesua Etomi as Falz.

Everyone awaits the 12th annual headies awards as it introduced four new categories; Best performer, Best song writer of the year, Industry Brand supporter and the viewers choice awards.

They also unveiled the host for the award ceremony to be Bovi and Seyi Shay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.