Everything You Need To Know About The Uefa Nations League

Everything about Uefa Nations League

The new international competition for European National teams known as the Uefa Nations league is set to kick off in a couple of days.

The new Uefa Nations League may be confusing to many football fans as there is already the well known European Championships known as the Euros.

So what is the Uefa Nations League about?

The Uefa Nations league is an international tournament for European teams which is aim at eliminating meaningless friendlies during international breaks. The teams will battle to then feature in a final four in 2019 to decide who will be crowed champion.

Here’s how it will work.

55 European teams would be split into four leagues (A, B, C and D) based on their UEFA ranking. Within those four leagues, the teams will be split again into groups, which will be made up of either three to four teams.

In each of the four leagues, four teams will be promoted at the end of the cycle, while four teams will be relegated. They will then play at their new level in the next competition, which starts in 2020.

The winners of the four groups in League A will qualify for the Final Four competition.

See the groups below:

Uefa Ntions league group

League A

Group 1: Germany, France, Netherlands

Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland

Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland

Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia

League B

Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic

Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey

Group 3: Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Northern Ireland

Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark

League C

Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel

Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia

Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus

Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania

League D

Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra

Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino

Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo

Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar


When Will The Games Be Played?

Matchday 1: September 6-9, 2018
Matchday 2: September 9-11, 2018
Matchday 3: October 11-13, 2018
Matchday 4: October 14-16, 2018
Matchday 5: November 15-17, 2018
Matchday 6: November 18-20, 2018
Finals: June 5-9, 2019

The tournament kicks off on Thursday, September 6 with Germany taking on World Champions, France.

What is The Final Four?

This will take place in June 2019 and would involve the group winners from League A. There will be a one-game semi-final stage followed by the final with the winner of that named the Nations League champion.

The Final Four tournament will occur in odd years, meaning that when there isn’t a World Cup or European Championship tournament, there will be a Nations League winner.

And The Benefits?

According to UEFA, “The UEFA Nations League creates more meaningful and competitive matches for teams and a dedicated calendar and structure for national team football”. The association believes the Nations League addresses concerns national associations raised about friendlies no longer providing adequate competition.

Weaker teams will also face teams ranked around their level so there will be fewer lopsided scorelines and more meaningful games for fans.

Source: 360nobs

Updated: September 2, 2018 — 7:27 pm

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

360dopes © 2018 About Us | Contact Us | Advertise | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Sitemap 360dopes